Have a question about one of our products or our site?

Search our FAQs below. Not finding what you need? Send us your question using the form below. We make every effort to answer our consumers as quickly as possible and will usually respond within 3 business days. If this is an urgent matter, or if you need immediate assistance, please call us at 1-800-632-5847 (M-F 9am-7pm EST).

You can attach multiple photos or screen shots of a product or other items here. Providing us with photos or screen shots, that include the "Best by" Date and/or UPC, can help ensure we understand your query.

Required field

Grill Mates FAQs

  • How does Grill Mates® label for the top allergens and sensitivities?

    We are aware of allergies and sensitivities to the following ingredients:

    • Wheat
    • Milk & Milk Products
    • Peanuts
    • Tree Nuts
    • Egg
    • Soy
    • Shell Fish
    • Fish
    • Yellow Dye #5 and 6
    • Monosodium Glutamate or MSG
    • Sulfites over 10 ppm
    • Gluten containing grains - including barley, rye, oats, spelt, triticale, and kamut

    We will always declare these ingredients on our label in the ingredients statement - they will never be hidden under the notations of "spices" or "natural flavors". If no ingredient statement appears on the product label, then the product is as it appears in the product name (e.g. black pepper). All our retail Extracts and Food Colors are formulated without gluten. This labeling policy adheres to the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act (FALCPA).

    Our McCormick facilities have allergen, sanitation, and hygiene programs in place.  Our employees follow good manufacturing practices and are trained in the importance of correct labeling and the necessity of performing thorough equipment clean-up and change over procedures to minimize cross-contact of ingredients.

    We encourage you to read the ingredient statement on your package at the time of purchase to ensure accurate, up to date information.

     

  • How does Grill Mates® label for gluten?

    McCormick® will always declare gluten ingredients on our label in the ingredients statement. Gluten is listed as "wheat", "barley", “rye”, “oats”, “spelt”, “triticale”, “kamut” or any protein containing part thereof and hybridized strains of these grains in our ingredient statements. 

    Gluten will never be hidden under the notations of "spices" or "natural flavors". This labeling policy adheres to the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act (FALCPA).

    Our McCormick facilities have allergen, sanitation, and hygiene programs in place.  Our employees follow good manufacturing practices and are trained in the importance of correct labeling and the necessity of performing thorough equipment clean-up and change over procedures to minimize cross-contact of ingredients.

    Because we are constantly improving our products, we do not offer a list of our products that do not currently contain glutens.  We encourage you to read the ingredient statement on your package at the time of purchase to ensure accurate, up to date information.  If any product has a Gluten Free claim, the product and the manufacturing line has been validated Gluten Free.

  • I’m unable to find one of my favorite Grill Mates® products? Do you still manufacture it? Can you help me locate it?

    We are glad to help you find your favorite product. Check our Discontinued Product List to ensure it is still being manufactured. If we still make it, find the product on our website and click on the “Where to Buy” box to find online retailers as well as stores near you that carry the product and have it in stock.  We suggest contacting the store prior to making a special trip to ensure it is still in stock. If your local store doesn’t show up on our locator, we advise you to speak with your store manager about availability as they may be able to order it for you.   

  • Can I order Grill Mates® products from you directly?

    While we do not currently have a direct order service, most of our products can be purchased online.  Just use the search feature on the top right-hand corner of our website to find the product page and click on the red “Where to Buy” box to find online retailers that carry the product and have it in stock.

    *Not all retailers participate in our “Where to Buy” feature.  If you cannot find a product at your local store, we recommend that you speak with your local store manager about availability. 

     

  • How can I get coupons for your products?

    Thank you for your interest in our products. We are sorry but we do not have coupons available for mailing. We promote our products in many ways and encourage you to check for available coupons for our family of brands through some of the other sources available. We regularly promote our products through weekly sales in local stores. Please check your store’s weekly circular and store shelves for these special offers. Store loyalty cards sometimes offer additional in-store discounts and load-to-card offers. Our coupons are sometimes available in the coupon inserts in local newspapers as well as through websites such as www.coupons.com and www.redplum.com.

  • Who do I contact concerning donations?

    Donations requests can be made via email at cdc@mccormick.com or by mail. All written requests for donations must be on your organization’s letterhead and received six weeks prior to your event. Please give information concerning type of fundraiser and approximate number of participants. For more information about our Charitable Guidelines, please visit https://www.mccormickcorporation.com/company/responsibility/charitable-donations. Address the letter to:

    McCormick & Co., Inc.
    24 Schilling Road, Suite 1
    Hunt Valley, MD 21031
    Attn: Charitable Donations Committee

  • Where can I find nutrition information for a Grill Mates® product?

    Grill Mates® has nutrition information posted on our product pages. Just visit the “Flavors” section of our website at https://www.mccormick.com/grill-mates/flavors 

  • Can I use Grill Mates® marinades for grilled vegetables?

    Yes! For example, the Zesty Herb and Montreal Steak varieties complement grilled vegetables nicely. Marinate for 15-20 minutes.

  • Can I reuse the marinade?

    No! Marinades should only be used once on raw meat products, including poultry and fish. Discard any remaining marinade.

  • Can I substitute fish instead of meat when using a marinade?

    Yes, but marinate only firm-fleshed fish steaks, such as tuna, salmon, swordfish and halibut, as well as shrimp. Marinate for 15 to 20 minutes only. Longer marinating time will cause the fish and shrimp to become mushy.

  • Will McCormick Grill Mates® marinade tenderize meat?

    No. Our Grill Mates® marinades will not tenderize meat. They are flavor marinades.

  • Why do I have to use a glass dish or a plastic bag to marinate food?

    The acid in the marinade will pull the metallic flavor from metal bowls.

  • Can I use Grill Mates® marinades to marinate longer than 30 minutes?

    Yes. Be aware that the longer you marinate, the stronger the flavor will become. Beef can be marinated overnight and chicken for several hours in the refrigerator. Fish or shrimp should only be marinated for 15-20 minutes in the refrigerator.

  • What should the internal temperature be for meat and poultry?

    Ground beef 160°F

    Beef steaks
    Medium-rare steak 135°F
    Medium steak 145°F
    Medium-well steak 155°F
    Well done steak 165°F
    Let the steak rest for 5 minutes after grilling to allow juices to redistribute throughout the steak. The temperature will rise 5 to 10 degrees after resting.

    Fresh lamb 145°F to 170°F
    Medium-rare lamb 145°F
    Medium lamb 160°F
    Medium-well lamb 165°F
    Well done lamb 170°F

    Fresh pork 145°F to 150°F

    Poultry 165° to 170°F

  • Where can I find the Grilling Flavor Forecast?

    Click here to see the latest Grilling Flavor Forecast.